10 Reasons Jenny Slate is my Spirit Animal

Cora Kessler
3 min readSep 22, 2019

--

10 Reasons Jenny Slate is my Spirit Animal

Since seeing the indie-film darling, Obvious Child, also known as, “the abortion comedy,” I’ve been glued to Jenny Slate’s next career moves, actually, that sounds really formal, I’ve been low-key stalking her.

From Marcel the Shell to Drunk History, to her jaw-on-the-floor hilarious late night interviews and not to mention, her impressive love life where she dates Hollywoods finest. Update — she just got engaged!
Usually I don’t get this crazy about celebrities but I see a bit of myself in Jenny Slate.

Here are 10 Reasons Jenny Slate is my Spirit Animal

1) We both had unconventional childhoods. Her mom is a ceramicist and her dad is a poet! My mom is an artist and my dad is a tofu maker. We are basically the same person (I will try to only use that line one time).

2) J. Slate and I are both loud and proud feminists.

3) Jenny Slate has a beautifully progressive attitude about being single. Like Jenny, I believe being single doesn’t equal, being alone. Instead it’s a great time for self-development.

4) We’re both poets. She’s actually publishing a book of poetry and I like to write poems in parks. Same difference?

5) Her love for her dog, Reggie. I don’t have a dog but I fall hard for animals. All the animals I had growing up had to suffer through some pretty (in my opinion) awesome costumes, had great nicknames and even if they weren’t lapdogs, they learned. Now, I get heart eyes for my roommate’s pets. When I eventually adopt a pet of my own, it’ll be a Reggie + Jenny type of relationship.

6) Her men: I can just tell she has good taste in guys. Probably because she isn’t afraid to be her weird self and like attracts like.

7) Most of all, I appreciate Jenny’s sense of humor. It’s vulnerable and sweet, but also gnarly and kinda gross.

8) HER STYLE. As someone that has always LOVED clothes and glamour but at certain points felt like it was an unhealthy tool of the patriarchy, Jenny perfectly exemplifies how a woman can be comfortable with themselves and use style as a tool for personal expression.

9) Her love of her parents! In multiple interviews, Jenny speaks of her chummy relationship with her quirky parents. She even treated them to a vacation for HER birthday.

10) And the final reason that Jenny Slate is my spirit animal? A psychic told her how to become a famous actress! See? Twinsies. I’ve gotten a few psychic readings in my day. And so it is. Thank you faeries. Amen.

--

--

Cora Kessler

Eclectic Topics / @Instagram Handles >> Follow my Influencer Marketing work @Video.Amigo • Follow my Open Sesame Podcast @OpenSesamedia • Follow me @CoraKess